Author Topic: use editor to work with O2  (Read 773 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #30 on: June 03, 2018, 10:00:00 PM »
John
the first point is that by what I saw on the page the license is $ 99.95
this converted plus taxes would give more than half of the minimum wage, from here in Brazil
 off the extra value for possible upgrades
second point, is that I am not a commercial programmer, so I do not make money from it,
third point is that the inefficiency is in me that I do not know anything programming, so the tool would only be a dead weight


jcfuller
my intention was not to change what people are already using,
some here included use paid tool, the intention was to have something available current and easy to confine by anyone,
 RadAsm3 for example I did not find the 3 to download, only the 2, the page is off the air, but it seems to be very good, although I did not know what to do in the 2 that I downloaded


but when trying to configure notepad ++ I realized how complex the O2 syntax is
dim ss as string
ss = string (6, "f")
some things I found inclussive I found the Chales exaggeration

Oxide Help is hiding keywords
the Redim for example only after clicking on Dim and who already knows the use will hardly click, I believe there are other hidden

Some things are confusing in my head because of the mix that has in the forum, for example, I thought I had module in O2 so I put it in the forum, but there is no "I think"
and yes block, scope,

John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #31 on: June 03, 2018, 10:11:04 PM »
If you're on a budget, download Ultra Edit for FREE for 30 days and see how you like it. The price you quoted sounds like the suite. The UE editor alone is very affordable.

John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #32 on: June 03, 2018, 11:14:06 PM »
Brazil's Neymar is like O2. Better at 80% than 99% of the players at 100%.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2018, 11:26:39 PM by John »

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #33 on: June 04, 2018, 08:29:06 AM »
John
i assume that someone who visits and wants to test O2 will not want to download an editor that is paid
I even downloaded other editors, until I found O2RadAsm here in the forum, but I found it a bit complicated
I find others even GBL, with a lot of options that I do not know what they are for,
notepad ++ was the easiest to use and configure, at least in the basic options
I'm not doing propaganda,
the project is active, has 32 and 64 bit, has other utilities
has multiple languages
little,
easy to use, "even I got something first"
can be modified and incorporated into the project "this is what I understood"

until you have a beta version of O2 and someone is preparing to create an own Ide that accepts all syntax and has a certain functionality for programming can be an alternative

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #34 on: June 04, 2018, 09:13:40 AM »
Notepad ++ tutorial compile code
http://docs.notepad-plus-plus.org/index.php/Compiling_Source_Code

in my case I'll just save the project as O2bas, why these things are still kind of advanced for me

but I'm still trying to configure the syntax, my biggest difficulty is the lack of programming knowledge
probably will not have how to have something complete and formatting all types separately, but my use will be limited

John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #35 on: June 04, 2018, 06:09:28 PM »
I'm curious why the O2 IDE isn't working out for you at this stage of the compiler's development?

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #36 on: June 04, 2018, 06:49:04 PM »
it works, but I get lost in what I'm doing with a few lines
and usually I mess up everything in the tests, and an auto indent helps at that point
the O2 in the stage that is, is probably already more than enough to mount the things I want, so I even want to try a more effective use
The funniest thing is for you to ask me this after trying to induce me to pay for an editor,


in the attempts, I finished a watercolor
I'm not good at color definition, and I use the monitor at minimum brightness
I tried some settings that would be basic, like setting default language, clearing huge lists of languages, but still could not configure.

but what I really wanted, and that will help me deal with O2 is the collection of lines, and the indent plugin
with time things work out

Mike Lobanovsky

  • Admin Support Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1850
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #37 on: June 04, 2018, 09:59:11 PM »
It seems the character back color in your syntax file isn't set correctly, Eduardo. I think it should be the same as the text background color in the main window.
Mike
(3.6GHz Intel Core i5 Quad w/ 16GB RAM, 2 x nVidia GTX 650Ti w/ 2GB VRAM, Windows 7 Ultimate Sp1)

John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #38 on: June 04, 2018, 11:18:44 PM »
Quote
The funniest thing is for you to ask me this after trying to induce me to pay for an editor,

I'm like a whore. I want to know what your budget is first before talking about services;D


edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #39 on: June 05, 2018, 02:06:17 AM »
It seems the character back color in your syntax file isn't set correctly, Eduardo. I think it should be the same as the text background color in the main window.

kkkk I had to increase the brightness of the monitor to see what you were talking about
in my use glow this background color looks black

Mike Lobanovsky

  • Admin Support Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1850
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #40 on: June 05, 2018, 07:15:55 AM »
Eduardo, the window background is definite brown while the character back color is black. I don't think there's anybody else on this forum who's likely to use such, er, unusual color combination in their editors.
Mike
(3.6GHz Intel Core i5 Quad w/ 16GB RAM, 2 x nVidia GTX 650Ti w/ 2GB VRAM, Windows 7 Ultimate Sp1)

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #41 on: June 05, 2018, 07:49:29 AM »
is just a test, easily changed
but it seems that this version of notepad ++ is new, the themes do not match colors with the created template
I already changed the background colors of the texts, but it really is very bizarre this color scheme

I added a pluguin that passes the code to the default application, which in the case is the oxide
it would be nice to have a syntax change in the middle of the document, something using the comments with a keywords to define the following syntax and formatting

 unfortunately I am not able to separate the keywords or configure this properly
I do not think that a good soul appears to be able to configure notepad ++ for use in O2, so I will define something for personal use without much implementation

I was seeing that notepad ++ is quite used having several plugin developers
if you create an O2 configuration plugin and launch it may be something to catch the attention of the possible programmers,
but of course one's own may be better although it probably takes more time to develop

John

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3158
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #42 on: June 05, 2018, 08:18:00 AM »
There is a big difference between offering a language IDE and getting people to change the external editor they are comfortable with. As far as I'm concerned, this is O2T.
« Last Edit: June 05, 2018, 08:27:47 AM by John »

Charles Pegge

  • Admin Support Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3696
    • Oxygen Basic
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #43 on: June 05, 2018, 10:58:45 AM »
I could make the OxIde colors configurable, if that would help.

edcronos

  • Guest
Re: use editor to work with O2
« Reply #44 on: June 05, 2018, 11:24:08 AM »
John

I talked about the syntax, keywords and commands,
I believe that setting up an editor from scratch for much more work

the colors I set up was just a test as I said "kind of bizarre"
anyway notepad ++ does not seem to be prepared for so many possibilities yet and has mixed the colors of key words such as Do and Double

I will leave a simpler standard certainly,

the open source question is sometimes a bit strange,
I think everyone wants to be the father of the idea.

Charles
the colors may be of help to some people because of visual adaptability,
in VBE I use dark fudo, and my monitor is with minimum brightness
but I think what would even help would be the collection of lines and the automatic marker
collecting the line for something besides testing facilitates a lot in the organization

but do not worry about it now,
when O2 is in beta and some documentation is that these things will make a difference,
I can use notepad ++ the way it is
an advertisement here and there will certainly make people appear capable of these secondary tasks